Technically it is our first day but since we went through some crazy time changes it is our day 2 of 28.

I (Kristen) am going to do my best to update this blog often so that you can follow us on our journey! Please keep in mind that we will be doing missions and dancing so there may be some days skipped when we are too busy! Also I am writing this at 9:30 pm NZ time but that is 3:30 am according to my body clock… so bare with me.


Flying went well for the team with only a few minor complications and we all landed safely in Auckland bright and early this morning. To keep ourselves awake we decided to go straight on an adventure. The first stop was brunch where we got some yummy juices and food! img_7985img_7991img_7992

^ This vietnamese soup was so hot I couldn’t finish it and had the waitress switch it out for me.. I am a weakling, I know.

img_7995

New Zealand wowed us with their massive trees in the middle of the city. They are seriously the biggest things I have ever seen. We spend some time climbing and exploring the trees around one of the Universities in the city.

img_8005img_8009img_8011img_8018img_8034

We made a stop for some artisan ice cream, and oh my it did not disappoint. I tried the hokey pokey flavor which is apparently special to New Zealand… I didn’t know that a country could have an ice cream flavor but they do and it was great. Lynn, Robyn, and myself all got this flavor and Greta got something that was chocolate on chocolate on chocolate…  It was so rich and amazing and I think I am set on ice cream for a while now.

img_8062img_8113

We continued our adventure and walked to the coast to listen to some amazing live music and watch sailboats speed by. I love our little group here. Seriously there is never a dull moment with us around.

 

img_8115

We finished our first excursion by getting severely confused by their bus system and then making it home safe and sound to dinner followed by some camp prep!!

We are loving it here already and may just stay 😉

Love you all!!